Sometimes wishes do come true. I was just kidding about getting a Lancer for the road trip but while agreeing on the arrangement at Budget, my wife inquired about the free upgrade to a higher class, an offer for more than 2 days lease shown in the website. We originally planned for a class C vehicles (Corolla Sedan, Tiida) and drove out with a class D Lancer.

Sweeet!!!

4melb1

The most awesome car I have driven to date. Mitsubishi Lancer

We arrived in Phillips Island early in the afternoon. The weather was nice. Phillips Island is about 120km south-east of Melbourne.

4melb2

Somebody offered to take a picture for us in front of Amaze’n Things.

4melb3

Wishing for thinner body frames… hahah!

4melb4

Defying or complying with gravity? Michael Jackson’s patented move (patent no. 5255452)

4melb5

Optical illusion room. The man of the left (me) was actually elevated and nearer to the camera relative to the lady on the right (wife). I didn’t have enough means so I just snapped the preview photo. Heh.

4melb6

The mirror maze was fun. First we found two parallel mirrors that faced each other.

4melb7

Then I made a copy of my wife, so one could continue her studies and another one would come back with me. lol.

4melb8

But then I thought – let’s have four of her.

4melb9

And she wanted four of me too.

4melb10

What’s for dinner?

That place was a lot of fun. But wife and I skipped the life size maze in the interest of time and cut straight to taking a short break with latte and wedges.

4melb11

If you ever reach Amaze’n Things and decide to enjoy a little snack, avoid ordering the wedges or request the wedges to be without salt altogether. The one they prepared for me had at least a cup extra!

Then we moved on to see the Nobbies almost immediately. We had plenty of time but we didn’t want to lose a spot in the Penguin Parade.

4melb12

Our ride from another angle.

4melb13

The Nobbies

4melb14

SImple but clever footwork.

4melb15

The air was fresh and the sight was beautiful.

4melb16

There is another attraction nearby the Nobbies called the Blowhole.

4melb17

The blowhole was a natural formation from gushing waves over time. At the time of visit, the water level was much lower and there was not much wind blowing so we couldn’t see the water spray. Too bad.

4melb18

4melb19

The tripod really came in handy. I couldn’t have it any other way.

4melb20

Brilliant. By the way, I heard this from one of the tourists, “You either live in your room, or go to Australia.”

4melb21

Brilliant. Nikon is really an amazing camera.

4melb22

Come and visit the land down under!

This particular sight caught my interested. The straight road heads somewhere but all you could see was a straight line heading nowhere or more or less to the blue sky.

4melb23

This particular sight caught my interested. The straight road heads somewhere but all you could see was a straight line heading nowhere or more or less to the blue sky.

4melb24

Gorgeous shore line.

4melb25

Beautiful beach.

4melb26

Half hour before the sun sets.

4melb27

We spotted a whale.

Finally we headed towards the Penguin Parade. There were already handful of people by the time we got there. Nevertheless we found a decent spot for penguin watching. It was freezing cold but nothing beats the excitement to witness the wonder of the nature. We waited until it was like 5.45 before the penguins appeared. They moved in groups and they trotted fast as they crossed the beach for safety. Cute 30cm tall little penguins.

4melb28

This was all I could get after Mark banned us from taking pictures. Hey, at least I snapped something. Look at the beautiful moon.

Well, they looked like this up close.