Class of 2009

Everybody started off early. Ayah, Teh and Pak Teh had already gone to the Vic market. Wife and I followed suit shortly after. Coming back, we all had lunch together with Wahyu’s family. They left at 12.30 for the graduation hall and my wife had joined that trip for an earlier preparation with the robe and all.

After Zuhr prayer, we hurriedly took the tram to the main hall. I’m not quite sure how everybody else felt, but I thought that was the longest tram trip ever.

Ibu, Kngah, and Mimi.

Yours truly. Looking like a modern syeikh. Hehe.

My wife, Mun, and Aliya.

Happy day for the entire family.

Too much exposure… I couldn’t fix it! But I think the angle was interesting. From left: Aliya, Mun, Sue, Intan, Wahyu.

Mothers and daughters! Layth wanted to be in the picture too.

Mothers and daughters take 2. On the side – mother and son.

Fathers and daughters.

The atmosphere.

I was quite envious over the whole thing. I noticed the presence of many parents and relatives. Unlike my commencement – it was just with a friend or two – I could barely hear any claps or hurrah when my name was called. So this graduation ceremony should be relatively excellent compared to my own.

It was time to get in the hall.

Finally… she graduates, yey! I’m so proud of you, honey.

Congrats, Wahyu! – my wife’s housemate. Sort of bestest friend then?

Congrats, Aliya! – my wife’s best friend.

And to others that I didn’t manage to capture their photos – good work. MBBS & B Med Science is not an easy feat.

The ceremony began… faculty walked in and the chancellor gave his speech.

I began to look around the hall (as it started to sound dull, hehe). Let’s see… big fish. Naked man. The eye was the sun. Was that a fairy on the top right?

Tall windows. More light.

The people on my right…

And on my left…

It became interesting again as conferment began. This was the moment when the dean was struggling to pronounce my wife’s name. She lowered her head as the name was called out, “SARI INTAN… NORDINA… MD SALAHH!!”. Ouh… that is so SALAH (incorrect).

Judging from this lady’s reaction, she knew that the pronunciation deviated. She either went, “Omg, that was wrong” or was looking at the next person going, “Gee, I hope your name will be pronounced correctly.”

Doctor & engineer.

With Muth and Aliya.

Class of 2009.

Delighted Sari Intan sisters.

All in all, I think the event went well. But I did find a few things ridiculous:
1) Despite paying $65, the robe wearing time was ridiculously limited.
2) No mortar board!!!
3) Limited guests within the hall. What’s up with that… Australia is wide, isn’t it? When I was the US, everybody could go in.