I took a day off to register my brother Ashbi at Sekolah Menengah Sains Alam Shah a.k.a. ASiS (Alam Shah Science School), Cheras. I stepped up because dad had an inescapably important meeting in Terengganu around the same time. KakLong, Muzani & Alya helped out too.

Upon arrival, we were directed to the main hall, registration of which was divided by classes.

I was quite impressed by how smooth the registration was, although, I wished there had been more chairs for the parents to sit. Ashbi is joining 4 Cita. With only fourth and fifth formers in ASIS, there are up to 10 classes now beyond the original 4 then (Cita, Usaha, Jaya, Maju).

After registration, we proceeded straight to the school co-op. Plenty of gears & supplies to grab.

Next: the dormitory. No excuse not to strive anymore: some of the trivial struggles have been removed. Everyone gets single-bed and a double-door locker. Awesome.

Passed down the bed-making technics to Ashbi. Yeap, I still remember.

Reminiscing memories from 11 years ago. Chills.

I was very much overwhelmed by nostalgia. Thinking about the sweet & sour memories from many years ago brought up goosebumps. I didn’t manage to find many teachers from then but I saw a couple of familiar photos. Many things have changed. And many more things have stayed the same.

Now time for some walk about.

I used to live here as a second former. This was called Block C then. Very nice paint work by the way.

This corridor brings up memories. 1996 in 1 Jaya. Starting to feel like these memories go way back. 15 years.

Epic. The basketball court. “Alam Shah, Alam Shah Sedia!”

Remarkable. Just like I remember it. OK, there wasn’t any roof then, but the tiles, drains, taps… haven’t changed much at all.

The canteen also hasn’t changed much. I haven’t gone to the dining hall yet so maybe I’ll reminisce that portion in the future. Had plenty of reminiscing already. One section of the brain at a time.

Closer to noon, we had lunch there. There was a little briefing to parents which KakLong & I attended, partially. I really liked the part where they coined the term “kemenjadian” in which students would have to slaughter chicken for practical training. That’s awesome.

I have a good feeling that Ashbi will survive this. No worries. He’s got the confidence and all of the support that he needs. I’m proud of him.


Prof. Dr. Mat bin Zakaria, Class of 1970

Ahmad Zidni Mat, Class of 2000

And now, the upcoming Ahmad Ashbihani Mat: Class of 2012.

As we departed, I almost cried, thinking about how my late mother would feel about this. She must be proud of Ashbi. I’m sure she is.

The great circle of life continues on… I too one day will become parents, put my kids in school and pass away. But should not dwell on this too much. Focus on the present moment (efforts), pray to Allah that all will be fine, and embrace the results.

Ya Allah, bless us all with your guidance. We are nothing but humble servants surviving this temporal world. We seek your blessings & forgiveness, always.